Skip to content

Time to Hit the Showers – New Grooming Products

July 23, 2008

I’ve recently been contacted by the marketing folks at a couple of men’s grooming product companies. They were kind enough to send along some of their new products so that OTC could test them out and get back to you with the results.

While many of us still scoff at the idea of men’s grooming products, the truth is it’s a booming industry and there is a niche to fill. Bearing in mind that everyone is different and that each of us has our own likes and dislikes, I’ll give you my thoughts.


Schick Quattro Titanium Trimmer

First off, let me be clear: I’m not really a gadget guy. Show me a vintage Rolex or Italian hand-made note cards and I’m good to go. But electronics? To me they are tools without much of a personal soul. To me the iPhone is just a phone. After all the kinks have been worked out and the price has fallen to manageable levels, maybe I’ll get one.

The new Schick Quattro is a gadget too, but one I like. Until now the humble disposable razor was just a simple tool for trimming sideburns. That all changed when the new Quattro showed up at my door. This ingenious little gadget has captured my attention and more importantly from Schick’s perspective, my loyalty. The four bladed pivoting head feels flawless on my chin and the little edger blade keeps that awkward spot under the nose neat.

Most significantly, the razer’s handle contains a shower safe electric trimmer to clean up beards, mustaches, sideburns – what have you. What really impressed me was that it worked – so often these curiosities are showy gimmicks. Not here; it worked well and I’m happily surprised.


Axe Skin Contact

The guys at Axe have done it again. The irreverent company has released a new version of it’s bath and shower products and frankly, I like them.

To come up with the new, more crisp feel, they have blended exotic ingredients like black licorice, ginger, green melon and frozen tomato leaves and tangerine juice. There is a little more fancy branding and the product message is a little less MTV this time around.

With a fresher, cleaner scent I am a fan of this new generation of scrub and gels. Lather up!

No comments yet

Leave a comment